Why I’m a Photographer and trying to make it as a Professional

Why photography?

This is a question I am asked a lot by people who aren’t artists nor are in the art world.

I especially got this question when I was first coming here to SF to start my degree.

Why art? You know you can’t make that much money with a art degree right?

I really hated these questions and I hated answering them ( I don’t like repeating myself its annoying).

Well why photography? I enjoyed taking pictures since I was a little girl. It was the only activity I did that I felt the most freedom to do. I had a strict upbringing and was told what to and not to do all the time so when I was handed a camera and never told what I couldn’t do with it (except when taking family portraits of course :/) I was happy. I felt free and I enjoyed capturing moments.

A moment in my life that cemented the power of an image and the idea that it could capture a splice of time was when I was 9 and took a picture of the Twin Towers the summer before they had collapsed.

I think at that time I had somewhat grasped the concept of death so for me when the Twin Towers where psychically gone but some how still existed in the images that I took of them spoke volumes to me.

Later on when I released that I could make a career as a photographer I knew that that was what I was going to do because I want to enjoy the job that I’m doing and make money at the same time, no matter how much or little that is, rather than live miserably at a dead end that I care nothing about.

The amount of money that I make doesn’t really matter to me. I don’t want to be poor but I don’t want to be rich either. I just want to live comfortably while creating art that I care about and hopefully other people care about too.

Leave a Reply

